First Impressions – Estee Lauder Double Wear

I’ve been on a kick of trying new foundations recently, so here is the first in a short line of First Impressions posts: Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay in Place Foundation. I mentioned this in my June Favorites, but it’s definitely worthy of a full post. I have really oily skin, and especially in the summer, it’s  difficult to find a foundation that will last all day. Double-Wear does this really well. I got this in shade 1N2 Ecru, but after wearing it a few times, I think I would get it in Cool Bone 1C1 next time as this shade is just a touch too warm for my skin.

On long days, I like to use this with the Becca Ever-Matte Poreless Priming Perfector to stay matte all day, but it works well on its own too! I bought a MAC Pump to use with it as the bottle has beautiful packaging but doesn’t include a pump. I just cut about a half inch off the end of the MAC Pump and it was perfect. The foundation continually mattifies all day, and gives a great flawless look to your skin without looking too fake. It can be a little thick, but when I apply it with my BeautyBlender, I think it looks and feels perfect. I wore this earlier this week on a long day, and wanted to show the progression of how it wears all day:

Just applied...6AM

Just applied…6AM

7AM Starbucks drive-thru

7AM, full face, Starbucks drive-thru

11AM, pre-presentation

11AM, pre-presentation

2PM, post-presentation, in afternoon slump

2PM, post-presentation, in afternoon slump

5PM, on the way home

5PM, on the way home

9PM, post dog walk

9PM, post dog walk

I think it holds up really well! In fact, this may be my new Holy Grail high-end foundation! Clearly, I can’t remember to apply lip color throughout the day, but otherwise, I am so happy with the way it wears throughout the day. I usually see my foundation break down around my nose and on my chin, and this (plus MAC ProLongwear Concealer) ensure that I have a flawless face all day. Because it’s pricey and pretty hard to take off, I don’t wear this on a daily basis, but it’s great for important or especially long days.

What do you think? Do you also love Double-Wear Foundation? I highly recommend it!

9 thoughts on “First Impressions – Estee Lauder Double Wear

  1. I really love this foundation. However I can’t find the right shade for my skin. It’s either too light or too dark or to yellow. Such a shame 😞. Great blog loved how you have plenty of photos through out the day for us to witness the staying power of the foundation x check out my blog if your free x

  2. Pingback: Covergirl Outlast Stay Fabulous 3-in-1 Foundation – First Impressions | Karen's Corner

  3. Pingback: Sephora Haul! | Karen's Corner

  4. Pingback: 2014 Favorites – Face Products and Tools | Karen's Corner

  5. Pingback: January 2015 Favorites | Karen's Corner

  6. Pingback: VIB Sale Haul! | Karen's Corner

Leave a comment